The Viktor Mutt lectureship has been established in recognition of the fundamental research of Viktor Mutt in the field of gastrointestinal peptide hormones and neuropeptides. The first Victor Mutt lecture was given at the 10th Symposium in Santa Barbara, 1994 (to Thue Schwartz). Subsequent recipients have been Alan Kopin (Copenhagen, 1996), Daniel Drucker (Macinac Island, 1998), Tim Wang (Cairns, 2000), Nigel Bunnett (Boston, 2002), Richard Benya (Toulouse, 2004), Masayasu Kojima (Hakone, 2006), Herbert Herzog (SantaBarbara, 2009), Jonathan Sweedler (Belfast 2010), Fiona Mary Gribble (Copenhagen, 2012), Mario Delgado (Kyoto, 2014), and Matthias Tschöp (Rouen, 2016).


The nominee should be an active investigator who has made substantial contributions in the field of regulatory peptides and/or related topics and be under 50 years of age at the time of submission. The nomination should adequately describe the research of the individual (a maximum of 5 pages), accompanied by a list of major publications, complete curriculum vitae, and a copy of identification to verify the date of birth. Submission as a word document must be sent to the chair of the selection committee (


The recipient will be invited to give a lecture at the symposium and will receive a diploma.